Resources

Working in the Gig Economy

Abbing, Hans. Why Are Artists Poor? The Exceptional Economy of the Arts, Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press, 2008.

Benmiloud, Hadjar. ‘Een nieuwe verloren generatie’, De Groene Amsterdammer, 28 november 2018, https://www.groene.nl/artikel/een-nieuwe-verloren-generatie.

Eckenhaussen, Sepp. ‘Post-precariteit: Drie principes voor cultuurwerk, beleid en solidariteit na Covid19’, Institute of Network Cultures, 3 June 2021, https://networkcultures.org/longform/2021/06/03/post-precariteit/.

Hao, Karen. ‘The AI Gig Economy Is Coming for You’, MIT Technology Review, 31 May 2019, https://www.technologyreview.com/2019/05/31/103015/the-ai-gig-economy-is-coming-for-you/.

Hewison, Robert. ‘Freelance Workers Are the Backbone of the Art World – But How Are They Expected to Survive on a Pittance?’, The Art Newspaper, 5 March 2021, https://www.theartnewspaper.com/comment/what-about-the-freelancers.

Lorey, Isabell. State of Insecurity: Government of the Precarious, London & New York: Verso, 2015.

Lorusso, Silvio. Entreprecariat: Everybody Is an Entrepreneur, No One Is Safe, Eindhoven: Onomatopee, 2019.

Lupu, Alina. ‘Before We Knew What Hit Us’, Platform BK, 24 April 2020, https://www.platformbk.nl/en/before-we-knew-what-hit-us/.

Morgan, Geogre, and Pariece Nelligan. The Creativity Hoax: Precarious Work and the Gig Economy, London: Anthem Press, 2018.

Rasterhof, Claartje, and Bjorn Schrijen. ‘Hoe precair is werk in de cultuursector? In gesprek met kunst- en cultuurfilosoof Thijs Lijster’, Boekmanstichting, 27 May 2020, https://www.boekman.nl/actualiteit/hoe-precair-is-het-werk-in-de-cultuursector/.

Ravenelle, Alexandrea J. Hustle and Gig: Struggling and Surviving in the Sharing Economy, Berkeley: University of California Press, 2019, https://www.are.na/block/12947446.

 

Money Flows in the Cultural Sector

 Baelen, Carlo van. ‘Noodfondspijlen naast het cultuurdoel’, Rekto:Verso, 26 December 2020, https://www.rektoverso.be/artikel/noodfondspijlen-naast-het-cultuurdoel.

Demollin, Timo. ‘The Philanthropy Trap’, Platform BK, 24 March 2021, https://www.platformbk.nl/en/the-philanthropy-trap/.

‘The future of the art market’, Creative United, https://www.creativeunited.org.uk/services/the-future-of-the-art-market/. 

 

Experiments with Crypto

‘A guide to ecofriendly CryptoArt’, https://github.com/memo/eco-nft.

Dal Dosso, Silvia. ‘Cats, Frogs and Cryptoartists: What if Auteur .jpgs Become a Luxury Good’, Institute of Network Cultures, https://networkcultures.org/longform/2021/03/11/cats-frogs-and-cryptoartists-what-if-auteur-jpgs-become-a-luxury-good/.

‘Episode V. Toward a New Ecology of Crypto Art: A Hybrid Manifesto’, Flash Art, The Uncanny Valley series, 26 February 2021, https://flash—art.com/2021/02/episode-v-towards-a-new-ecology-of-crypto-art/.

Lovink, Geert, and Alexander Estorick, ‘Crypto Art Interview’, Institute of Network Cultures, 26 February 2021, https://networkcultures.org/geert/2021/02/26/geert-lovink-alexander-estorick-crypto-art-interview/.

Menkman, Rosa. The Glitch Moment(um), Amsterdam: Institute of Network Cultures, 2011.

Menkman, Rosa. ‘Remarks on Crypto-Art’, MoneyLab, 3 March 2021, https://networkcultures.org/moneylab/2021/03/03/remarks-on-crypto-art-by-rosa-menkman/.

Wisecrack, ‘How NFTs Explain Everything Wrong with Art’, YouTube, 14 April 2021, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjQPCnjM3Bg.

  

Staying Happy and Healthy

 ‘50 Ways to Take Care of Yourself in the Arts’, Arts Hub, 1 November 2015, https://www.artshub.com.au/2015/11/01/50-ways-to-take-care-of-yourself-in-the-arts-249726/.

‘Assessing Risk: On Strategies for Health, Safety, and Welfare Within Arts Practice’, Kunstlicht, vol. 41, no. 4, 2020, https://tijdschriftkunstlicht.nl/vol-41-no-4-2020-assessing-risk-on-strategies-for-health-safety-and-welfare-within-arts-practice/.

Billuart, Morgane. ‘New Mores, What Now?’, Idealenfabriek, 28 May 2021, https://www.idealenfabriek.nl/nl/Nieuws/Een-nieuwe-moraal,-wat-nu?.

 Judith Boessen, ‘What’s Wrong with the Art Academy? In Search of Flaws in Art Education’, Mister Motley, 7 January 2021, https://www.mistermotley.nl/art-everyday-life/what%E2%80%99s-wrong-art-academy-%E2%80%93-search-flaws-art-education. 

 

Durable Self-Organization

Institute of Radical Imagination. ‘Art for UBI Manifesto’, Institute of Radical Imagination, 16 January 2021, https://instituteofradicalimagination.org/2021/01/16/art-for-ubi-manifesto-launching-campaign/.

Choi, Binna. ‘Living Organisation: That Is, Self-Organisation’, Autonomous Fabric, 1 March 2018, https://autonomousfabric.org/text/living-organisation-that-is-self-organisation.

Dillemuth, Stephan, Anthony Davies, and Jakob Jakobsen, ‘There Is No Alternative: The Future Is Self-Organised’, 2005, What’s Next?, http://whtsnxt.net/042.

Kraaijeveld, Joram. ‘Reinventing Solidarity’, ArtEZ Studium Generale, 6 January 2020, https://studiumgenerale.artez.nl/nl/studies/all/blog/solidariteit+heruitvinden+reinventing+solidarity/.

Landau, Frederike. ‘Cultural Infrastructures of Vulnerability: Reflections on Care during and after COVID-19’, Arts of the Working Class, 4 June 2020, http://artsoftheworkingclass.org/text/cultural-infrastructures-of-vulnerability.

Loots, Ellen, Kaja Piecyk en Walter van Andel. ‘Collectieve emancipatie als de route naar een meer eerlijke beloning in de kunsten?’, Creatief Ondernemerschaplab, https://www.creatiefondernemerschaplab.nl/columns/column-collectieve-emancipatie-als-de-route-naar-een-meer-eerlijke-beloning-in-de-kunsten/.